The Infinity Gauntlet (Prologue)

Marvel Comics
The Infinity Gauntlet

The Infinity Gauntlet (1991) is a six-issue limited series that is one of the masterpieces of Marvel comics. It cemented the place of Thanos as one of the Marvel Universe’s premier cosmic villains and showcased a grand ensemble of characters that spanned the whole universe. Both comic distributors, Diamond Distribution and Capital City Distribution, pointed that each issue of the series was on the top ten sellers list of the month. The series had a lasting impact on the industry, influencing future cosmic events and bearing in Warlock and The Infinity Watch and The Infinity War, sequels. The comic book was written by Jim Starlin and illustrated by George Perez.

The premise of the series is the Titan Thanos having collected the six infinity gems from cosmic beings in order to win the romantic favor of the embodiment of Death. During the first issue, Thanos at the request of Death, erases half of the sentient life in the Marvel universe. The rest of the series, figures as a cataclysmic confrontation between the universe’s champions and the cosmic beings with Thanos.

Power is a recurrent theme in the Marvel Universe, and no being embodies that reality more than Thanos. On different occasions, Thanos sought ultimate power only to be found unworthy of it — this is the assessment of Adam Warlock, whose link to the soul gem granted him an insight into Thanos’ soul. First, he sought the Cosmic Cube.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s